Week Three – Photos Finally!!!

I am still not sure of the reason why Elder Ballard couldn’t send any photos the first three weeks but I am sure there is a good explanation.  So today it felt like Christmas when I opening up the email to see so many!!  He didn’t write until later in the day so me and a chunk of missionary mommas on a group thread started to creep.  We totally got on their bank accounts to see if they were spending money, and they were, so we knew they were out having a good time for their p-day!  I know – I’m a stalker (I didn’t even mention how I tracked down one of the Colombia MTC teachers on Facebook to see if she knew Mikey!!).

Many of you know that the first two weeks have been very hard on Elder Ballard.  He was having a lot of amazing experiences, but the pressure of the 16 hour days and intense learning combined with not being able to be outside as much as he is used too, were causing him some stress.  In my momma letter today he taught me a wonderful lesson of the power of hard work, forgetting yourself, and relying on the Savior.  He said the following:

“You know, the first week was pretty awful, the second week got better, but this last week sorta flew by and now it seems like every day is just coming and going in the blink of an eye!  I can hardly believe how dedicating all of your time to something other than yourself can be so refreshing and fulfilling!”  

Then I got a “thank you momma moment” right here:

“So this week I made a goal to memorize 2 scriptures in Spanish, 40 words a day, and 3 phrases a day.  For the amount of time we are given that is pretty hard – haha – but I did pretty good! I memorized Moroni 10:4-5, and 1 Nephi 3:7 of course!  You taught me that one remember? On all those drives to school when I was super young!  Next was Moses chapter 1:39!  So thanks for all those times you helped me with those – haha – they have been a blessing to me in the CCM.  [We would memorize and recite scriptures in the car on the way to school each day when they were little because I always drove them.  Even the neighbor kids did them with us!  Moses 1:39 was our staple verse.  I am so glad they suck somehow!]

Oh but about the goals, one day I made 40 flashcards but I tried to do them a little differently and after about 10 minutes of studying I realized I did every single one wrong! All of the words were wrong and that day I didn’t learn a single new word!  I was so frustrated but looking back it was actually pretty funny!”

We are so glad he is learning to see the value in hard missionary work and how it can help keep your mind busy and help you move forward during the hard times.

So here is his letter to everyone for the week!

This week just flew by!! So here in the MTC, a new batch of missionaries come in every
three weeks and the old ones leave for their missions. Yesterday all the older elders left
along with the latino missionaries who were in the CCM so the only people here are
American’s!! It doesn’t feel right to be in Colombia but only to be around American
guys… as weird as that sounds. So today was P- day and we weren’t able to go to the
temple which was a bummer, but we were able to go to a Catholic Cathedrol which was
built in 1638 or something like that, on the very top of this crazy mountain! I could not
even believe it. We woke up super early, packed out our things (cause we switched
rooms), had breakfast and then were off.  After an hour long ride in a cramped van we
got to the mountain and took a tram up to the top!
The view was just amazing and the church was even more so! Check out some of the
pictures. It was a pretty rad experience, especially because we could just walk into the
middle of a ceremony and take pictures while minding our own business. People were
preaching and praising the lord through song and stuff like that without even caring!
So cool! The artwork was fantastic [for those of you who don’t know – Mikey LOVES
art in all its forms so this was a treat].  Oh, and there were body guards everywhere
with  these giant guns cause there was just a re-election in Colombia recently and they
needed a little extra security for the area apparently.

I had a pretty unique experience this week, one that I have not had before. So since I
have been here, I have been studying the attributes and character of Christ. Reading in
the book of Matthew, I think chapter 15, Pharisees come and tempt Jesus to show them
a sign. Jesus responds by directly addressing their mistakes. This in turn offends the
Pharisees and the Apostles are wondering for what purpose Jesus said those words.
Jesus essentially goes on to explain that it is through guilt and sorrow that people are
able to humble themselves to repentance. This week some elders were disobeying the
rules and our CCM President called us in for a meeting. He had a stern talk with us and
really did make us feel guilty for the situation. But it was because of the strong words
he spoke that change was made! Being a  missionary, we are to invite others to come
unto Christ by repentance. It is hard to invite one to repent without telling them they
did something wrong, but after this edperienve, I am starting to understand that it is
better for someone to pass through a few feelings of guilt or dislike in order to bring
them ever closer to their Savior.
I have a testimony that by following after the example of Christ in all things that we
can become exhaulted on high and live with our Father in Heaven once again. I’m so
grateful for the spirit I feel every day here and cannnot wait to really start teaching the
people of Colombia.
Love you all!!
Elder Ballard 
Here he is with his Companion, Elder Parker Anderson, from Sandy, Utah – a stud!

These are some of the latino missionaries he became close to and was sad to see go this week as they left into the mission field.

These are his roommates from the first three weeks (until they changed today) – Elder Wallace, Elder Anderson (his companion), Elder Alfrey, Elder Ballard.

“This is the basketball court which I never use cause I’m always out playing futbol!”  Of course this will make his little brothers happy!  He didn’t even want to take Dallin’s indoor shoes on the mission – so glad we snuck them in there!  And the bear shirt?  It was Mikes and he snuck it in last minute as a token of love, so glad Elder Ballard wears it!

“This is the soccer field where we spend every free second.”

We are so excited for such a great letter with amazing photos – we are on cloud nine. It is so true, what my friend Tami said, your week of emotions is tied to the letter you get that week.  Last week I was feeling heavy.  This week feels super exciting with such good things to come!  Thank you for following his journey!

Momma Kel

Leave a comment